So this happened....Also, it takes effect April 2, which I found hilarious, because someone had the foresight to not have it happen on April 1. (Disclaimer: I didn't realize the Pro already increased to 750 before, so when I mention a 200 dollar increase, it's when the console was first released at 700.)
Just Plain Gaming
Friday, March 27, 2026
The Continued Strain of AI Development on the Console Industry
Wednesday, March 25, 2026
Should I Even Bother Keeping Up the Fight At This Point....
Wow, okay, so it's been almost a year since I've written a blog here. I really need to get on that. I guess all it takes is something from Nintendo to light a fire under my ass to get going again.
Before I get into that, anyone who knows me knows what kind of gamer I am, and I'm a collector. I'm not the kind that goes hunting on eBay or go to out of the way mom and pop stores looking for rare treasures (although I used to do that long ago). I'm the kind of collector that just collects what I play; I like to keep my games. I want to address one point that I hear people try to use against me all the time when I debate physical vs digital.
"You don't own the game! You only own a license to play the game!"
Yeah, no shit, Sherlock. We all know that we don't OWN the actual game. No one has EVER debated that fact. Those rights belong to the IP holder/publisher/developer of said game. And as you said, we own a license - in this case, a copy of the game - to play it. The difference between physical and digital licenses is that when you own a copy of a game physically, it is IMPOSSIBLE for the IP holder/publisher/developer to revoke access to your license. They would need to literally hire someone and send them down to your house with a search warrant to see if you even own a physical copy that they could take back from you.
We've seen this countless times. Games that people once had access to digitally suddenly found their games deactivated. One such case had PlayStation gamers with downloaded TV shows lose access to what they legitimately purchased: shows downloaded into their personal libraries, not subscribed to. Digital games are also subject to availability based on licenses that the publisher/developer have to continue to pay for, so if a game's becoming long in the tooth and is no longer selling, they'll delist the game so they don't have to pay music holders, car manufactures, and other companies continual licensing fees.
"Well, a digital game being delisted is the same as a game not being sold in brick and mortar stores!"
Well, um... not really. True, if you head to a store like GameStop or Best Buy, you're not going to find a game that is no longer in print, but the key difference between delisting and out of print is that out of print games can be found at numerous sources in the second-hand market. There is no second-hand market for digital games, which is a crime, as it illustrates an unusual power grab for control over IP that isn't currently netting the holder anymore profit.
So anyway, I've always made it my thing to buy a physical version whenever I could because I love permanence. When console games began launching simultaneously in adjacent digital store fronts, I kept going to brick and mortar stores and ordering physical copies online because for one, I'm a tactile person by nature and prefer the physicality of slitting open cellophane and opening a box, popping a disc out, and putting in my machine. I know most people don't care about that, more as they just want the convenience, but I also have never adopted an eReader just because I prefer the weight and smell of the book itself. Also, I don't have to worry about shuffling around data because my harddrive is full of game files I've downloaded onto it.
That last line isn't as relevant today as it was even five years ago, because nowadays, consoles need to install off the disc to the harddrive (well, SSD) because optical drives can't stream the data fast enough for the systems to process, yet still, my earlier points remain: those physical copies are mine, and they'll last forever.
But this generation has been very frustrating in terms of wanting to hold the line in the war of physical versus digital. If you take a look at the design of the first PlayStation 5 models, you'll have noticed a peculiarity with the disc-based model compared to the digital-only model. The disc model's disc drive was a lump on the side of the console (displayed vertically). It was clear to see that this was a design aspect resulting from an afterthought of Sony realizing that there are still a good number of gamers left who want physical media. This was further evidenced in 2024 when the PS5 Pro was released without a disc drive. Thankfully, one could purchase one separately and slap it in, but still, that was a price-based deterrent to put off as many physical gamers as possible.
In 2023, Microsoft began its push to cease pressing copies of some of their Xbox games. Some of their biggest exclusives launched digital only, such as Psychonauts 2 (which apparently did have a physical, but for Kickstarter backers only) and Senuas's Saga: Hellblade 2. Both of these games I actually bit the bullet on and bought digitally, because I really wanted to play them. In most cases, if a game I wanted to play came out digital only, I would try to wait it out for a physical copy. Usually, places like Limited Run Games and iam8bit would do physical copies of games the publishers themselves didn't want to.
And then we have last year, 2025, when Nintendo themselves tossed their name in the hat to further frustrate physical collectors with the addition of game key-cards. If you don't know what a game key-card is, it's essentially a game card that has the license to download the game from the eShop stored on the card. In essence, it works like PS5 and Xbox games that only have the license key to download the game from their respective store fronts. This allows owners to maintain a "physical" copy to sell and trade should they no longer wish to own their digital copy. The issue with GKCs is that Nintendo refused to give developers cheaper 32 gig cards to put their games on, so we were seeing games that could have easily fit on them, some even being smaller than 10 gigs, end up on GKCs because publishers didn't want to spend the extra money on 64 gig cards. So, we've had many games release on GKCs instead of actual physical media, and that puts a timer on the life of those games, because there will be a point where those games will be delisted, and the GKCs will have no value to anyone else but the current owners. I didn't like the idea of GKCs for that reason alone, but sadly, I decided there's no point in fighting these, so I bought a couple: Octopath Traveler 2 and Pokemon Pokopia. If I can't have an actual physical copy, I guess the next best thing is a GKC.
So today... *big sigh* Nintendo decides to use a price deterrent to incentivize more gamers to adopt digitally by initiating a price disparity between their digital and physical versions. When I first heard about this story, it was originally reported that physical copies were going to be increased 10 dollars, but Nintendo had to clarify that what they were doing was instead was making digital versions 10 dollars cheaper. It only makes sense as there are no manufacturing or shipping costs associated with digital copies, and this is something I've actually championed for years ago. Unfortunately this clarification came while I was writing this blog, and now it's kinda taken some of the steam out of it, because I wrote this with full intent of ranting about Nintendo, how they've become more greedy this generation with raising the prices on games in general and making their most expensive system to date, yada yada yada. But still, the question remains....
Should I even bother keeping up the fight at this point? More and more games (and I'm actually finally installing Crimson Desert, which apparently doesn't have any data on the disc itself) are being shipped in a GKC way on PS5 and Xbox, and the new Xbox might not even have a drive at all, so there will be a point where physical media just isn't a thing anymore. PC gamers witnessed the loss of their games being pressed on disc years upon years ago. They'll be the first to tell console gamers to just give it up and get used to it, which I get, but I wish you PC gamers pushed back as much as us console gamers are still trying to do.
What I need to do right now is weigh the importances of what really matters to me against the inevitabilities. Do I simply let go of wanting to play certain games (that will most likely be all games in the future) just because I don't like the idea of not owning my copy? Do I really want to keep putting up with constantly downloading them and shuffling data files around on my SSD? Or.. could I just embrace an all-digital future like many gamers already have and actually enjoy the comforts and conveniences afforded to them by simply having all their games in one place, leaving behind cleaner shelves and less cluttered closets?
Ultimately, it comes down to whether or not I want to give gaming up. Either I'm all in or I'm completely out, and there's simply no way I'm willing to give up gaming for good. Granted, I have the backlog to wait out the next Great Flood, but there's a big enough part of the gamer in me that will want to continue to play the next big new game. I've been relenting over time with the sluice gate slowly opening, but there's just going to be a point where I need to open it all the way up and let the floodwaters take me where they may.
Saturday, April 26, 2025
Something Has Got to Fucking Change
So, as it stands, I'm currently sitting on two Switch 2 Mario Kart World bundles. One is from Target that I'll be shipping out to a friend of mine who currently is traveling and unable to secure one. One is for me from Walmart. I was lucky enough to be able to secure two preorders, and I should be over the moon, right? Well... the problem is I still had to deal with all the other fuckery that everyone else did. It put a strain on my mental health, and I really don't appreciate it. I also feel for the people who've had terrible luck, and may not even be able to secure one before launch. I love when gamers can share this hobby with each other, and EVERYONE should be able to experience the Switch 2 on launch day, which I know is a tall order, but websites just refuse to find a foolproof way of getting as many units into the hands of people who genuinely want one.
The night of April 23rd, just before 10pm MDT, I set my browser tabs up with the four big ones: Target, Best Buy, Walmart, and GameStop. Little did I know, GameStop wouldn't go live until the next morning at 9am MDT, but I'll get back to that. So, when 10 pm rolled over, I began refreshing. Only Walmart was ready to go, but they had a que going. It said my wait time was 10 minutes, and I couldn't believe it. Was it really going to be this easy? Ahh, but I learned not to put all my eggs into one basket, so I continued to refresh Best Buy and Target. Target went live around five minutes later, and the big red preorder button was screaming in my face, and I never clicked on anything so fast in my life! Once I got to the shipping details, that's when I started having problems. I put in my address, placed the order, was brought back to the address field. I did it again, then again, and started panicking. Finally, it went though, and I was praying "Please send me the email confirmation! Please send me the email confirmation!" And a minute later, I got the notification on my phone. Preorder secured!
Now, if it was just me, I'd have called it a night, but I texted my friend who was on the road that I got one, and he asked for me to try to get him one, too. That was already our initial plan, and we were ready to go on the 9th, but... well... tariffs. I said sure, I'm already in line at Walmart, and still waiting on Best Buy to go live. So, I noticed that the que at Walmart was not moving. It said I only had 1 minute left, and nothing happened, but I was too scared to refresh, so I let it ride. Unfortunately, 30-40 minutes later, I never got in as the wait time was stuck at one minute. I just closed the window and chalked up the loss. It was either Best Buy or bust.
Around 10:30, Best Buy finally went live, and I found an MKW bundle, but when I clicked on it, I was put in the que. Ok... Ok... it didn't work at Walmart, but it'll work at Best Buy. I have faith in Best Buy. I got my OG Switch from them. I'll get in. Well, roughly 30 minutes or so, the page refreshed and I was booted from the line. I learned later via Twitter that everyone who was in line got booted. So, I tried again. And waited and waited and waited. About another 30 or so minutes later, the page refreshed to say out of stock.
I learned shortly after GameStop was going live the following morning at 9am MDT, but there's a problem. I start work then. I decided I'm going to try a last ditch effort for my friend and got my phone out ready to go. At just before 9am, the thinkable definitely happened. I knew the website would crash. And it did. Over and over and over again. I tried for about 20 to 30 more minutes until the site was stable enough to start showing it as unavailable. Well my friend... I tried.
Then I woke up this morning, and my chat group was going crazy. One of my friends landed her preorder this morning at Walmart, and another said they're still available, so I opened up the site on my phone, searched for it and saw the blue Add to Cart button and clicked it.... and said it couldn't add to cart. Try again... So I did several times until finally, it went through! I secured one for my friend! I was really happy! But then, I think back through all the bullshit we have to go through to get these preorders, and it was never this bad. And it just pisses me off.
I remember when the first Xbox launched in 2001, I simply walked into the store first thing in the morning and they had piles and piles of them on the floor. You picked up one, picked your accessories and games, and you walked out. No preordering even necessary. Back then, you could go to any Electronics Boutique, GameStop, Toys r Us, whatever, and place a preorder weeks after the announcement of the system. But of course, gaming was a different landscape back then.
Gaming today has become far more popular and the demand for these systems at launch have become just as great. Then, 2020 happened, and it was impossible to go to a store and preorder a system anymore. Everything became online, and that year was the year of the bots and scalpers. Bots and scalpers have been around well before 2020, but considering how the economy has shifted and how during the summer of that year, you couldn't even find a bar of soap, it was feasting season for them. The PS5 and Xbox Series S/X only played right into their hands. Retailers' websites buckled under visitor traffic compounded by automatic refreshing of bots, who more often than not absconded with the very item you just put in your cart. Preordering online was already hard. Now, it was a nightmare.
So, we're back here in 2025. The pandemic is a couple years past us, but the effects are still being felt, one of which is trying to get a new system when the preorders go live. And something needs to change with these big box retailers to fight off these scalpers and bots so the rest of us have a chance. Sony employed a tactic when trying to obtain a 30th Anniversary PS5 was nearly impossible, and that was to reserve the right to purchase based on your play time. Nintendo took a page from their playbook requiring you to show Nintendo that you were with them as a customer for at least a year with an active NSO subscription and a certain amount of gameplay. Only then would you be eligible to even be selected to receive an invitation to preorder a system through Nintendo. It was not the most preferred solution, but a solution nonetheless. Gamers newer to Nintendo Switch would be left in the cold, but it gave their loyal customers a fighting chance.
And I think that's one thing that should be done with the rest of the retailers. Here are a few of my thoughts of things that need to change:
- Email Reservation - Sony and Nintendo have already done this, but this should be done by all retailers. The moment a system becomes available, immediately set aside a certain number of unites available only to those who reserve their reservations via email, and then send emails out with a short window of opportunity to preorder. This could also be applied to people who showed up at the website and failed to preorder one. They could be put on a waiting list and be invited the moment it was restocked.
- Visitor Parking Lots - I'm not a technical person, so I don't know if this is how it works or what, but the que system is a good idea; it just needs help. So, instead of having hundreds of thousands of visitors show up at the website doors funneling them in one que that ends up buckling under the stress, create virtual parking lots. Say, the first 1000 go into Lot A, the next 1000 go into lot B, etc., etc., then when the que starts, the load is only on one lot at a time. It'll take longer to get through, but we're looking for stability over convenience.
- MFA - I don't know if this was done via Best Buy or Walmart, as I didn't get through, but it's time to be proactive and verify human activity, and this means MFA. This will also link their accounts and addresses to one phone number limiting their purchases to just one per person. But again, I'm not tech savvy, so I don't know how easy it is to get a bot around MFA.
- Allow Preorders At Stores Again - It's understandable that this wasn't allowed to happen during the Pandemic, but we're several years removed from it. GameStop was the only one of the big four that had preordering in-person, and I've seen many successful posts from people who only had to show up a few hours early to get theirs. One even showed up in the afternoon and still managed to get one.
- Make Scalping Illegal - Ok, so this is never going to happen, but I never expected Trump to win a second term and completely fuck up our economy, so who knows. In 2020, legislation actually stepped in and stopped thousands of people from scalping such items as toilet paper and baby formula, but those were deemed necessities. As much as we love gaming, it's far from a necessity, but snatching up brand new product before customers can buy them and then selling it back to them should be considered exploitation, and it should be illegal for that purpose alone. Of course, there's the argument that there wouldn't be scalpers if there weren't buyers, but that feels like victim blaming to me, which is why I'm not a fan of the argument. Praying on someone's desperation, whether it's for baby formula or video game consoles, is disgusting unethical behavior and should be outlawed.
Wednesday, September 11, 2024
Paying 700 Dollars For a PS5 Pro Is Sending the Wrong Message to the Industry
What you're seeing here should be clear as day as to what's wrong with the price of the PS5 Pro, but if you can't see it, I'll break it down for you. What you're looking at is a price drop of the PS4 base model while the PS4 Pro launched a couple of months later at the same price as the PS4 base model when it originally launched in 2013. I can't find a similar graphic for Xbox, but MS also launched an Xbox One X at 500 dollars, which was the same price as their base model, which also launched in 2013, and the base model also had a price drop. This is how Sony and MS wanted to condition us with these console refreshes: release a new more powerful version at the same price of the base model while also dropping the price of the base model. Simple. They get an influx of new customers while allowing existing customers to affordably attain their newest, more powerful iteration.
But now, they've gone backwards...
Ok, so there's a couple things about this argument that doesn't really work. For one, PC is an ENTIRELY different market, and an ENTIRELY different experience. You are literally comparing apples and oranges here. Anyone buying a PC is buying something that does far more than just play games and movies. PCs are far more flexible devices and far more customizable, and anyone who's spending more money on graphics cards than a console are usually getting far more out of them in comparison. Plus, playing on PC means free online and cheaper games on average. Steam Sales anyone? So, for the average CONSOLE gamer, yes, 700 dollars is too much.
Ok then, it's not for you. It's for enthusiasts.
But, it's not really. Again, this isn't how refreshes worked in the past. The PS4 Pro and Xbox One X launched at the same price their base models did, which means refreshes are FOR the original intended market. It doesn't make sense NOW to try to invent some new "enthusiast" market that probably won't net Sony as much profit as they're hoping for. But, I can see how you'd come to that conclusion. Sony's been trying to reinvent themselves over the past few years with expensive accessories that no one really needs. PSVR 2? PS Portal? Overpriced headsets and ear buds? Sleek, stylish overpriced goods you can find better alternatives for cheaper is indeed something Apple does, so if the Pro is their next "enthusiast" item, then yeah, I guess it isn't for me. But, it's odd that you would use that as a defense for a company who wants to make money, because if you are pitching something to make money, you need to make it as reachable as possible, and a ton of people are already saying no, so if it isn't for me, or them, or us... well, that's really a problem.
Just say you're broke.
And this one REALLY gets under my skin. Listen, I can afford 10 PS5 Pros and 10 disc drives, but there's no way in hell I'm going to actually do that, because I have a sense of value. Being able to afford something and being able to justify the price of something are two different things. The PS5 Pro at 700 dollars currently does not demonstrate value to me because I feel the graphical upgrades aren't good enough for the cost. We've really approached serious diminishing returns at this stage of the game. And well, forced to buy an add-on disc drive? No thanks. I'd rather spend my money on something else.
Well, what about the 600 dollar Xbox Series X!? How come THAT isn't too much?
And actually, I agree with you on that. The new XSX isn't really an upgrade at all, just more memory, and memory is supposed to be cheaper as the years go on. It should have been 500 for the 2TB model and 400 or 450 for the previous model to keep things in line with value and competition. So, yeah, I don't endorse the new XSX models. But hey, at least it has a disc drive...
It's inflation. Deal with it.
And another one that bugs me. Yes, inflation is real and it really sucks. Yet again, it DIDN'T affect the previous generation's refreshes. And we saw price drops on all models. Inflation has always been with us, but it didn't affect the previous generation in that way. One might say it's symptomatic of economical damage from COVID, and well, that might just be true to a degree, but I still find it hard to believe that not even the Nintendo Switch could gives us a price drop on their base model eight years later. At least they gave us a cheaper model. All Sony's done was increase the price of their cheaper Slim 50 bucks. Also, PS5 controllers have gone up five dollars when again, with inflation always being with us, controllers have historically dropped in price. This is evidence of greed and arrogance. The video game industry is far FAR too profitable to keep blaming inflation for them having to raise their prices. FAR too profitable.
Let people spend their money how they want!
True, it's their money and if I feel they're being foolish with it, they can still go right out and buy one. But the issue is this: I share my hobby with those foolish gamers, so how they spend their money directly affects how I spend mind. This is akin to people using this defense when it comes to microtransactions. "Don't like, don't buy it!" I didn't buy them, but enough people did, so it changed the very way some games were designed and made them worse for me, but I've blogged about that already. Point is, if enough people drop 700 on a PS5 Pro, then the PS6 will be 700 and I DON'T want that!
Trade it in GameStop!
I'll agree with you there, but again, you'll still need to deal with the jacked up price, so you're going to pay more out of pocket than you would had the PS5 Pro been more reasonably priced.
So to sum it all up, I think it's setting a dangerous precedent to buy the PS5 Pro at 700 dollars. Even if you can justify all the new tech being worth the extra 250-280 bucks, you're letting Sony know that you're ready to do this again with the PS6. If the PS5 Pro is successful, then there's no way they're going to make a more powerful machine and not charge at least 700 for it. We know how Sony feels now about dropping the price on their current models, so a price drop on the PS5 Pro before the PS6 doesn't seem likely.
And let's not forget the lack of a disc drive. Remember, the original design of the PS5 suggests that the inclusion of a disc drive was an afterthought. Sony was ready to go all-digital THIS generation, but changed their mind to let physical gamers buy discs, but Sony is now ready to put an end to that. They're testing the waters one more time to see just how many gamers still care about their physical games, so if you're like me and still hold on to your physical copies, then not buying a PS5 Pro is even more important. We are definitely losing the war, that much is certain, but I want to hold out as long as I can.
The crux of the debate should not be about whether or not one can afford a PS5 Pro, but whether or not we can afford to let Sony (and other companies) keep getting away with exploiting us. We are frogs in a boiling pot, and the temperature is continuing to rise. It's time to wake up and really start paying attention.
Saturday, February 12, 2022
Ownership Is Losing Is Importance
If you told me a few months ago that I would start donating my DVDs to the library by the hundreds, I would have laughed at you.
But, well, that's what's been happening with me lately. I've been having a purge of sorts, a decluttering if you will. It pained me to get rid of my DVDs, movies that I've accumulated since 1998 when I got my first DVD player, but the logical part of my brain finally took over and said, "Look, you never watch them anymore. All they do is take up dust! Get rid of them!"
So how did this happen? Well, thank LEGO. Of the many things I collect and store and display in my room, LEGO sets are one of them, and I like the big ones. I got lots of architecture sets, the Roller Coaster, Stranger Things, etc. And then, I ended up getting the MASSIVE 9000+ piece Titantic. Once I got it put together, I had a hell of a time finding a place for it. I ended up shuffling a lot of things, but one thing that had to happen was getting rid of my books. I needed that shelf space, and suddenly, I found myself throwing my books in a box and taking them to my library without a second thought. These were books I LOVED, but I only read them once and like the DVDs, only collected dusty. Suddenly, it didn't feel so important to continue to own them anymore. If I could discard my books so easily at a whim, I wondered if I could do that with my DVDs, so that's what ended up happening.
Now, I'm not getting rid of ALL my DVDs. There are classics that I watched all the time as a kid, ones that have my favorite actors, and some that I know I'll get around to watching again when I'm snowed in, but when I went through my collection, it kinda scared me how quickly I was picking out ones to donate. It made me think, "Look at how much money I've spent on theses movies over the years! Why did I feel I had to own everything?" And then, I started to look at my gaming collection.
Thursday, December 16, 2021
There's Just Something Ugly About a 70 Dollar Price Tag
Remember when the PC Master Race used to belittle us console plebs by bragging about how all their games were cheaper than ours? Although that gap has closed over the years, with many AAA games now being 60, SE has now tightened that gap even more by launching Forspoken at 70. 70 still isn't the average yet, but companies like SE are really pushing for it to be, even going so far as to sell a PC game for 70... A PC game... A game released for a platform that owes no platform holder a licensing fee, and releases their games strictly digitally, so money is being spent on pressing discs and shipping them out. Think about that, for a second. Provided that Forspoken sells well, they'll have made even more profit on PC than they would on PS5.
I know there's a crowd out there that defends price hikes by saying games cost more money to make, and that's true to a degree. But guess who keeps getting more and more money? Publishing execs. If you were to tell me that the developers are guaranteed more of a cut or don't get fired the moment they finish the game, then maybe it would be easier for me to accept the new price... but I really don't think so. Hell, you have 2K selling sports games at 70 dollars WITH loot boxes and microtransactions! Can you not see the greed here?
What's disappointing is that just a few months ago, the same company, SE, put out the critically acclaimed Guardians of the Galaxy for 60 dollars. Although, that was across multiple platforms, so maybe a bean counter had a formula that let them be just as profitable at a lower price because it would sell more on multiple platforms. But also take into consideration what franchise this is. It's Guardians of the Galaxy, a Marvel property, which is Disney owned. This means Disney would be getting a cut, so if SE was going to start charging 70 dollars, why not start with Guardians when there was more hands in the cookie jar?
Also, take into consideration that SE has another perpetual money making machine in the form of Final Fantasy XIV. Hot after many awards, the game is currently enjoying its fifth new expansion with subscriptions at an all time high. On top of paying for the game plus expansions and subscriptions, there are still optional microtransactions being sold. They sell JUST mounts for upwards of 40 bucks, not to mention all the pieces of clothing and minions that are five bucks here, 10 bucks here. FFXIV prints SE money. Forspoken would have been just fine at 60.
So I'm curious to see just how well it'll sell on PC, because it won't do THAT great on PS5 with only a few million machines out in the wild. Will the PC crowd hold off, or will they fight back with piracy? Let's also talk about the IP itself. Is Forspoken even worthy enough to be a 70 dollar game? It's a brand new IP, and a risky one at that, placing a black woman into a heavily Japanese influenced world. The draw for the common gamer might have been weak at 60, let alone 70. I just don't see this performing well. I for one am going to pass at 70, and I'm going to make a commitment to buy any game that launches at 70 at a used price instead.
"Well, if you can't afford an extra 10 dollars, then you can't afford video games." See, that's the kind of argument I hate. I get that gaming is a luxury hobby. It's not cheap, but it doesn't have to be price-gouging. Think of it this way. Let's say you buy two games a month at 60. Now you have to pay 70. That's an extra 240 dollars a year, which would have been four more games you could have bought at 60. It adds up. You shouldn't be advocating for these incremental price increases, because at some point, gaming will become too expensive, even for you.
And let's be honest here. The jump from the eighth generation of gaming to the ninth has not been as impressive as the jump from the six to the seventh, when games started being 60. As much as I loved the Demon's Souls remake, I just can't convince myself it was worth 70, especially since Bluepoint released the Shadow of the Colossus remake at 40. As much as I loved Ratchet and Clank: A Rift Apart, it was no where near meaty enough to warrant 70 dollars. As interesting as Returnal is, I can't see myself paying 70 for what's essentially a really shiny rogue-like.
I don't want the standard to be 70, because I personally don't feel it's worth it. There's just something ugly about the numbers 7 and 0 being together. I guess it's because it's getting closer to 100, and if there's a day that games cost 100 dollars, we're going to be in some serious trouble. We need to seriously question WHY the prices are going up, and we need to look at the record profits their CEOs are making. With all the work place abuse that's being covered up in companies such as Activision, Ubisoft, and now even Bungie, we should be more wary of giving these corporations more of our hard earned dollars. We just need to stop wanting so much. We're becoming frogs in the slowly boiling pot.
I know this blog doesn't have much reach, but I'm hoping maybe whoever reads it will share it or tell a friend, and ask them to hold off on buying new games at 70 dollars. We have to admit that we're being taken advantage of and we need to fight back, because next generation, it could be 80. Then the one after that will be 90, and now we're at 100. Do we really love gaming enough to allow ourselves to be taken advantage of like that? I love gaming enough that I want to do something about it. I hope you will, too. Let's make game prices attractive again.
Thursday, September 23, 2021
September 2021's Nintendo Direct Left Me Both Extremely Happy and Extremely Pissed
This isn't going to be a breakdown of everything that was announced at the Nintendo Direct. You can either watch the show or read an article about it if you want to know the announcements. Instead, this is going to be a blog about how Nintendo, as per usual, has me feeling weird after their Directs. Let's just get right into this.
Very early on, Nintendo announced a game that had me so freaking happy, I didn't care what else was announced. This is the one for me.
Look at that! Look at it! It's a new Kirby in 3D! I have been waiting for a 3D Kirby game for a very long time. Not only is it in 3D, it gave off some really strong Super Mario Odyssey vibes, and I obviously really loved that game. So, to see Kirby finally get a potentially huge installment in his franchise just has me over the roof. My jaw hung open pretty much the full length of the trailer. I can't wait to start sucking up enemies and taking their powers in glorious 3D!
So, another pleasant surprise that left me feeling pretty good is Actraiser Renaissance.















